Golf One Media

The Players Championship Field is Set

by | Mar 9, 2024 | PRO NEWS

The Players Championship Field is Set

144 players representing 23 nations are planning to tee it up, March 12-17, for 50thAnniversary The Players Championship.

Defending Champion Scottie Scheffler enters the week as World No. 1, the first since Rory McIlroy did so in 2020.

In all, nine Players Champions are in the field led by Scheffler (2023), Justin Thomas (2021), Webb Simpson (2018), Si Woo Kim (2017), Jason Day (2016), Rickie Fowler (2015), Matt Kuchar (2012), Adam Scott (2004).

George McNeilly

5-time PGA TOUR Winner Roger Maltbie with Sr. Writer George McNeilly

In a most fitting tribute, NBC Sports just announced that Roger Maltbie and Gary Koch will join broadcast team as part of its celebration of the Golden anniversary with coverage airing across NBC, GOLF Channel and Peacock March 14-17.

Maltbie will serve as an on-course reporter during Thursday and Friday coverage, while Koch will join Mike Tirico in the broadcast booth during Thursday and Friday coverage.

“Roger Maltbie and Gary Koch have called some of the most iconic moments at The PLAYERS Championship throughout the past three decades and having them on next week’s broadcasts is a great way for NBC Sports to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the PLAYERS,” said Tommy Roy lead golf producer.

Kevin Kisner will serve as an analyst for weekend coverage of The PLAYERS with play-by-play commentator Dan Hicks.  Meanwhile, Kisner and Smylie Kaufman will team up to call “Friday Happy Hour” coverage from alongside the iconic 17th hole on Friday afternoon on GOLF Channel and Peacock.

“Kevin did a great job in the booth with Dan Hicks earlier this year and his work with Smylie Kaufman on the 16th hole at the WM Phoenix Open made for great TV, so we’re happy we can once again pair Kevin with Dan and have Kevin join Smylie at the 17thhole at TPC Sawgrass next Friday,” added Roy,

Another 23 players are making their debut in PGA TOUR competition on TPC Sawgrass.  Ludvig Åberg, Akshay Bhatia, Alexander Björk, Nick Dunlap, Austin Eckroat, Harry Hall, Ryo Hisatsune, Nicolai Højgaard, Chan Kim, Jake Knapp, Ben Kohles, Vincent Norrman, Matthieu Pavon, Matti Schmid, David Skinns, Jimmy Stanger, Sam Stevens, Ben Silverman, Ben Taylor, Sami Valimaki, Carson Young, Kevin Yu, Carl Yuan.

If not otherwise exempt, the winner of the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard and the Puerto Rico Open will qualify for THE PLAYERS.

NBC Sports will surround the 2024 PLAYERS Championship with comprehensive live championship and studio coverage across NBC, GOLF Channel and Peacock, beginning next Monday, March 11, with Golf Central Live From The PLAYERS at 7 p.m. ET on GOLF Channel and Peacock.

THE PLAYERS Championship field list as of Friday, March 8 at 5 p.m. ET:

Åberg, Ludvig
Alexander, Tyson
An, Byeong Hun
Baddeley, Aaron
Bezuidenhout, Christiaan
Bhatia, Akshay
Björk, Alexander
Blair, Zac
Bradley, Keegan
Bramlett, Joseph
Buckley, Hayden
Burns, Sam
Cantlay, Patrick
Clark, Wyndham
Cole, Eric
Conners, Corey
Dahmen, Joel
Davis, Cam
Day, Jason
Detry, Thomas
Duncan, Tyler
Dunlap, Nick
Echavarria, Nico
Eckroat, Austin
English, Harris
Finau, Tony
Fitzpatrick, Matt
Fleetwood, Tommy
Fowler, Rickie
Fox, Ryan
Ghim, Doug
Glover, Lucas
Griffin, Ben
Grillo, Emiliano
Hadley, Chesson
Hadwin, Adam
Hall, Harry
Hardy, Nick
Harman, Brian
Henley, Russell
Higgo, Garrick
Hisatsune, Ryo
Hodges, Lee
Hoffman, Charley
Hoge, Tom
Højgaard, Nicolai
Homa, Max
Horschel, Billy

Hossler, Beau
Hovland, Viktor
Hubbard, Mark
Hughes, Mackenzie
Im, Sungjae
Jaeger, Stephan
Kim, Chan
Kim, Michael
Kim, S.H.
Kim, Si Woo
Kim, Tom
Kirk, Chris
Kitayama, Kurt
Knapp, Jake
Kohles, Ben
Kuchar, Matt
Laird, Martin
Lashley, Nate
Lee, K.H.
Lee, Min Woo
Lipsky, David
List, Luke
Lower, Justin
Lowry, Shane
MacIntyre, Robert
Malnati, Peter
Martin, Ben
Matsuyama, Hideki
McCarthy, Denny
McIlroy, Rory
McNealy, Maverick
Merritt, Troy
Mitchell, Keith
Molinari, Francesco
Montgomery, Taylor
Moore, Ryan
Moore, Taylor
Morikawa, Collin
Murray, Grayson
NeSmith, Matt
Noren, Alex
Norrman, Vincent
Novak, Andrew
Pan, C.T.
Pavon, Matthieu
Pendrith, Taylor
Poston, J.T.
Power, Seamus
Putnam, Andrew

Rai, Aaron
Ramey, Chad
Reavie, Chez
Riley, Davis
Rodgers, Patrick
Rose, Justin
Ryder, Sam
Schauffele, Xander
Scheffler, Scottie
Schenk, Adam
Schmid, Matti
Scott, Adam
Shelton, Robby
Sigg, Greyson
Silverman, Ben
Simpson, Webb
Skinns, David
Smalley, Alex
Spaun, J.J.
Spieth, Jordan
Stallings, Scott
Stanger, Jimmy
Stevens, Sam
Straka, Sepp
Streelman, Kevin
Stricker, Steve
Suh, Justin
Svensson, Adam
Tarren, Callum
Taylor, Ben
Taylor, Nick
Theegala, Sahith
Thomas, Justin
Thompson, Davis
Todd, Brendon
Valimaki, Sami
van Rooyen, Erik
Villegas, Camilo
Wallace, Matt
Woodland, Gary
Wu, Brandon
Wu, Dylan
Young, Cameron
Young, Carson
Yu, Kevin
Yuan, Carl
Zalatoris, Will


About the Author

<a href="" target="_self">George McNeilly</a>

George McNeilly

George McNeilly is an award-winning multimedia broadcaster, producer and writer with a journalism background that has spanned the globe from four Olympics, 17 Super Bowls, World Series, NBA Finals, Major College Football, Basketball and Professional Golf. A former Senior ESPN executive, George teaches Sports Business at Full Sail University and is managing partner of McNeilly Communications.